Collection: The Heart of the Labyrinth and Other Stories


  Cover of The Heart of the Labyrinth and Other Stories by DK Mok. A young woman stands in a tall stone archway, facing a sprawling labyrinth, against a vivid twilight sky of purple, pink and gold clouds.  











You can also ask your local bookstore to order a copy for you.



The Heart of the Labyrinth and Other Stories
Fantasy & Science Fiction

Twelve tales of adventure, wonder and heart from Aurealis Award-shortlisted author DK Mok. These diverse stories of courage and hope celebrate fierce women, curious minds, and unexpected kindness.

A warrior librarian makes a pact to save the monsters of her realm. A high school girl ferries refugees from broken, enchanted worlds. An underfunded roboticist builds a robot kraken to explore the abyssal depths.

The Heart of the Labyrinth and Other Stories features six Aurealis Award-shortlisted stories, as well as two stories original to this collection.




“Overall, this is an exceptional collection of speculative fiction stories suitable for both young adult and adult readers. Read it, and then move onto Mok’s novels, which are just as exceptional. Mok writes with heart, humour and humanity, bringing light and hope into even the darkest of worlds. Highly recommended.”

- Stephanie Gunn, Aurealis Award-winning author of Icefall


“Sometimes whimsical, always substantive; Mok's short stories brim with optimism, heart, and wry humour.”

- Rivqa Rafael, co-editor of Mother of Invention


“Kaleidoscopic casts. Sly humour. Heart-rending allegory. Acute scientific observation. The stories of Heart of the Labyrinth have everything I want in short speculative fiction. Somewhere between astronomy and astrology, bouncing joyfully from unexplained whimsical magics to the specific spectra of moonbeams, DK Mok leads us to find the best in ourselves.”

- Thoraiya Dyer, author of the Titan’s Forest Trilogy


“If you love stories of ingenuity, courage, and compassion, then this is a collection you won't want to miss.”

- Nathan Burrage, author of The Salt Lines duology




ISBN (Paperback): 978-0-9944315-2-3
ISBN (Ebook): 978-0-9944315-3-0